Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion

Press Release

13 November 2014

Oxford, UK - The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative has announced its membership for the next 4 years (2014-2018). 13 of the 32 scientific member positions have been filled by clinicians and scientists new to BEST.

As previously announced, Professor Mike Murphy (Oxford) has succeeded Larry Dumont as Chair.

BEST's work is conducted by 4 teams. A new Donor team has been established and the Clinical Studies and Transfusion Safety teams have been combined into a Clinical Transfusion Studies team.

The full list of team leaders and scientific members can be found at

About the BEST Collaborative: The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative is an international research organization whose objective is to improve the safety of transfusion and cell therapy and related services through standardization of analytic techniques, development of new procedures and execution of clinical trials in hemotherapy and cell therapy. More than 80 scientific publications have resulted from the Collaborative's work.


Michael Murphy, MD; Chair of the BEST Collaborative, in Oxford, UK: +44 1865 447902
Eileen Selogie, MT(ASCP)SBB; Executive Administrator of the BEST Collaborative: +1 310 497 6469 x2