Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion

Press Release

26 February 2014

murphymikephotonewLebanon, New Hampshire - The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative has announced that Professor Michael Murphy, MD, FRCP, FRCPath has been elected as its new Chair, effective October 2014.

Dr. Murphy qualified at St. Bartholomew's Hospital Medical College, University of London in 1973, and became a Senior Lecturer in Haematology at St. Bartholomew's Hospital in 1985.  In 1996, he moved to Oxford and in 2004 became Professor of Blood Transfusion Medicine at the University of Oxford.

His expertise lie in hospital transfusion practice. He and his team have developed and implemented an 'end-to-end' electronic transfusion process throughout the acute hospitals in Oxfordshire. It has demonstrably improved the safety and the efficiency of transfusion practice, delivered cost savings, and has won several national awards.

Dr. Murphy has been Secretary of the National Blood Transfusion Committee in England since it was established in 2001. He was a co-founder of the NHS Blood & Transplant/Medical Research Council Clinical Studies Unit and its Systematic Reviews Initiative for transfusion medicine which developed the unique, evidence-based resource for the transfusion medicine community, the Transfusion Evidence Library ( He has served on numerous Advisory Boards and Committees, and was elected as a Member of the Royal College of Pathologists Council (2005-08). He is a current Board Member of AABB (2010-present), and continues to work as a clinical specialist in haematology.

"I am delighted that Mike will be my successor as Chair of BEST, " said Larry Dumont, current Chair of the BEST Collaborative. "He has been a leading member of BEST for some years, and has made major contributions to BEST studies. I wish him every success."

"I am very honored to be elected as Chair of this internationally recognized group that comes together to conduct studies to improve the safety and efficacy of blood transfusion," states Dr. Murphy.

Dr. Murphy will serve a four-year term as Chair.

About the BEST Collaborative: The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative is an international research organization whose objective is to improve the safety of transfusion and cell therapy and related services through standardization of analytic techniques, development of new procedures and execution of clinical trials in hemotherapy and cell therapy. More than 80 scientific publications have resulted from the Collaborative's work.


Larry J. Dumont, PhD, MBA; Chair of the BEST Collaborative, in Lebanon, NH: +1.603.650.5480
Eileen Selogie, MT(ASCP)SBB; Executive Administrator of the BEST Collaborative: +1.310.497.6469 x2