Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion

Announcement of BEST Membership for the next 4-year term (2018-2022)

Press Release

05 November 2018

Lebanon, NH - The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative has announced its membership for the next 4 years (2018-2022). 13 of the 32 scientific member positions have been filled by clinicians and scientists new to BEST.

As previously announced, Dr. Ziggy Szczepiorkowski has succeeded Dr. Mike Murphy as Chair.

BEST's work is conducted by 4 teams: Cellular Therapies, Clinical Transfusion Studies, Conventional Components, and Donor Studies.

The full list of team leaders and scientific members can be found at

About the BEST Collaborative: The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative is an international research organization whose objective is to improve the safety of transfusion and cell therapy and related services through standardization of analytic techniques, development of new procedures and execution of clinical trials in hemotherapy and cell therapy. More than 80 scientific publications have resulted from the Collaborative's work.


Ziggy Szczepiorkowski, MD, PhD; Chair of the BEST Collaborative, in Lebanon, NH: +1 603 653 9907
Eileen Selogie, MT(ASCP)SBB; Executive Director of the BEST Collaborative: +1 310 801 0914