Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion

Award Recipient of 32nd Scott Murphy Memorial Award Lectureship Announced

Press Release

19 March 2024

Dr. Huis in 't VeldLebanon, NH - It is with great pleasure that the Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative announces the recipient of the 32nd Scott Murphy Memorial Lecture. This lecture will coincide with the 67th Meeting of BEST to be held in Amsterdam, the Netherlands on April  12-13, 2024. The highly deserving award recipient is Elisabeth Huis in ‘t Veld, PhD, MBA, Assistant Professor, Cognitive Science and Artificial Intelligence Department, Tilburg University, P.I. Donor Medicine Research Department, Sanquin Blood Supply, and Co-Founder of AINAR B.V. Dr. Huis in ‘t Veld will present “Artificial Intelligence for Needle Anxiety Reduction: how AI and serious games can conquer needle fear.”

About the Scott Murphy Memorial Lecture: The Scott Murphy Memorial Lectureship was established in 2007 by the BEST Collaborative in recognition of the tremendous contribution of the late Dr. Scott Murphy, a past chair of the BEST Collaborative, had made to the field of transfusion medicine and to the science of platelet storage. The BEST Collaborative encourages junior faculty involved in the broadly understood field of transfusion medicine to apply for this unique award. The award recipient is invited to present a lecture at the semiannual BEST Meeting. A list of prior award recipients and their presentation titles can be found HERE

About the BEST Collaborative: The Biomedical Excellence for Safer Transfusion (BEST) Collaborative is an international research organization whose objective is to improve the safety of transfusion and cell therapy and related services through the standardization of analytic techniques, development of new procedures and execution of clinical trials in hemotherapy and cell therapy. More than 160 scientific publications have resulted from the Collaborative's work.


Rebecca Cardigan PhD; President of the BEST Collaborative
Eileen Selogie, MT(ASCP)SBB; Executive Director of the BEST Collaborative: +1 310 801 0914